Houston 59 News

HOUSTON, TX (January 28, 2015) – A Houston woman vowed that if she didn’t find love by the time she turned 40 she would marry herself. And earlier this month she did just that!

Yasmin Eleby married herself at the Huston Museum of African American Culture on January 3rd in a lavish ceremony with ten bridesmaids, family, friends, and other guests.

Click2Houston spoke with Eleby who said, “I didn’t do it because I couldn’t find a husband. I really want people to know that I’m not angry. I’m not lonely. I’m not bitter. I’m not a spinster. I’m just a fun-loving, happy person.”

Eleby had a spiritual ceremony performed by her sister since it’s not legal to marry yourself.

Eleby told Click2Houston that it was “very emotional, very spirit-filled and very uplifting.”

The happy bride will travel to Dubai, Cambodia and Laos for her honeymoon.

Eleby is financially stable and works in the gas and oil industry oversees.

